“Can We Be Lovers and Not Have Sex?” A Simple Manifesto for Radical Loving

I want a life of a million lovers.

I want to love you.

I want to love you if you are male or female, young or old, single or married…

When I see you we will embrace and hold a hug long enough to glimpse some insight from each other’s heartbeat.

When we walk down the street we shall link arms, pause frequently, and turn our toes and noses towards the other to speak directly without modesty.

I would like us to share the couch together, rather than creating a “do not cross” line where we may as well be sitting on brick blocks seated four feet away. Give me your knee, your foot, your thigh—let your body dangle on top of my body so I can know you the way litters of kittens know each other.

I want to show up to you and look into your eyes instead of at your eyes. I want to feel your hand and be consumed by it until the rest of the world ceases to exist. I want to be in your presence and be in want of nothing.

I would like you to leave our time together feeling loved and free and full of your most vibrant and luscious hue of you-ness.

source: Brentan Schellenbach, elephant journal.

Who is Brentan Schellenbach?
A Chicago-based yoga teacher and writer. She co-owns Fermata Yoga Center (FYC), a yoga studio in the center of Chicago’s Lincoln Park neighborhood. For writings and personal information, visit: BrentanSchellenbach.com, for FYC info, visit: FermataYoga.com.

Leave a Reply

